Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (4) - Books (1)

The Long Walk review

Posted : 10 months, 3 weeks ago on 9 April 2020 02:28 (A review of The Long Walk)

English is not my native language so I apologize for the errors that are bound to exist.

Let’s ignore the mediocrity of this book just because King wrote it. Shall we?
Not even that. Apparently Bachman was his own person.
That´s the best part of this book, by the way.

Doesn’t matter how weak is the characterization of this people. That we don’t get to know them that well as to care for them. That their stories are dull because teenagers aren’t that interesting. That the majority of them don’t have compelling reasons as to why participate in the walk. That they are very forgettable people.

One of the two that really have a strong reason, looks like a fucking idiot by doing this. The chances aren’t that great. He should have think this stuff better.

Why does the walk exist? Pure entertainment, I guess. Not a very good one at that. Is pretty worthless and the end. A waste of people. How many have won? The price is pretty big. I don’t think they can allow that. Is not a very sustainable thing. It is implied that probably all the winners die anyway. It does take a lot from you.

But if that’s the case, I can’t see many people actually going to it when is practically impossible. Do they fake information? I mean, people go and watch this things, so maybe people are able to see the fishy parts. I don’t know, this world is no very well explain.

It feels like King just wanted to have this shit and that’s pretty much it. I’m not able to find reasons as to why the walk exist. Have you? Because “Is fuck up entertainment, like gladiators and shit” is not good enough. Not to be a major premise.

Why do they have to be teenagers anyway? I can’t buy it. Don’t see many of them wanting to go to this shit. At least young adults, but no. Ok. Whatever.

Yeah, you like the theme? Is fine. I like it too, but, you know, I prefer if it was better done. But whatever.

I can’t even recommend it to people who like dystopia because is not very good at that.
Is a very shallow and boring one.

… Yeah. I don’t like this.

5/10.

I feel I’m being too hard, but the problems of the walk itself really annoys me.

The ending? Is ok. He went crazy. Cool.

The only reason the protagonist won is because is the protagonist. Not a fan of that. I don’t see any reason as to why he would endure more than the rest.
He’s not particularly great or has a powerful reason.

Well... That´s it.

Alaoz!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Don’t do drugs.

Posted : 10 months, 4 weeks ago on 2 April 2020 03:08 (A review of Requiem for a Dream)

English is not my native language so I apologize for the errors that are bound to exist.

Originally writing in May 3, 2019.

I feel identified with this film. No, I have never done drugs. But my refrigerator also tried to kill me once. It went insane, pull out a gun and told me he will see me in hell, or something like that.
I escaped by pure luck.

Is a hard film. I got no problems with that, I have seen worst things… in my own house.
But is also a very simplistic movie, predictable and exaggerated. Very exaggerated.

Is the descent to hell for absolutely all of the characters. Is focused in seeing how these four people ruin their pathetic lives because of the drugs, and that’s pretty much it. They just want to show suffering. And that’s lazy.
It has sweet moments, but in comparison they are incredible small.

Is completely hopeless, and I don’t have that much problem with it, but they are better addict stories that are more complex and realistic, like Bubbles in The Wire. God, The Wire is so good… Anyway.

Beyond the character of the mother, the best one, I have no fucking idea of why the rest of them got in to drugs. I can get an idea on Wayans, but, it needs more work. They are better options. I feel is a big deal to see how they got to that situation. I need to see it.

No, is not the dreams. They are other ways of opening a business. Harry seems sort of smart, he graduated from something. And if selling is what they wanted, why are they consuming? That’s the first rule, no tasting the product.
Wait, they were already consuming before taking that decision. What that hell?

Character work is alright. They at least have some level of personality, dreams and things they want to do. We do not know much about them beyond that, tho. Is not bad, but not great either.

The mother is awesome. Her character is really sad and realistic. That loneliness, feeling of abandonment, the television addiction, and the memory of old better times, is really hard and real. She, and only she, actually feels really human.

Visually, the movie is great. The directing reinforces what the characters are feeling. They are a lot of techniques. Acting is good. And the score is great. Beautiful. Lux Aeterna.

I don’t think is a bad movie, but not especial either. Is effective in what is looking for, not so much tho, because you can’t really emotionality connect with this people as is necessary. And what is looking for, is a low bar.

5/10.

SPOILERS.

The scene when Doctor Connors sees Harry fuck up arm, he calls the police BEFORE helping him. It makes no sense!
He goes to jail for a while until he finally receives some fucking medical attention. WTF
Harry should sued his ass! With that money he can maybe open that business.

Harry is a fucking idiot injecting in the same place even when it looks like shit. Nobody can be that stupid. But if he didn’t do that, he wouldn’t have lost his arm. And Aronofsky wanted to have his edgy finally, and logic wasn’t going to get in the way.

It makes no sense that there is a lack of drugs in New York.
Is the city that never sleeps for a reason.

Nobody notice that the mother is losing her fucking mind because of the drugs?

END OF SPOILER.

That´s it.

Alaoz!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Hollywood ruining my chinese drawings again.

Posted : 10 months, 4 weeks ago on 2 April 2020 02:13 (A review of Alita: Battle Angel)

English is not my native language so I apologize for the errors that are bound to exist.

Excuse my way of expressing. Is not pretty.

Originally writing in May 6, 2019.

What is this crap?
What were they thinking?
Why do so much people like it? I can’t understand it.

The movie is bad. Alita is done kinda competent, and just for that is not horrible.
And I’m feeling nice.

They decided to adapt almost everything instead of just the first volume. That’s why they touch so many stuff and they never develop anything. And that’s why nothing actually matters, because there’s no worldbulding.
How I am supposed to care about anything, if nothing gets properly treated?
I don’t care about the characters. You know why? Because they transform all of them into clichés and they didn’t develop them.

I wasn’t going to say shit about it as an adaptation of one of the greatest mangas ever. I never really care much about that; the most important thing is to be good by itself. That changed when I saw people saying it was a good adaptation. Is not. Fuck, is not.

Apparently being a good adaptation is to replicate a couple of scenes from the manga or anime. I doesn’t matter that it is badly done, I doesn’t matter that they are action scenes and mostly superficial and without real weight. They look similar, that´s enough.

They destroyed the complicated characterization of the characters and they reduced the story into their most based and popcorn elements. How is that good adaptation? They spit into the manga eyes, and then they brutally raped it.

Gunnm is more that an action cyberpunk manga.

By itself is a bad film too. Is moves to fast, doesn’t go deeper into the ideas, and that’s why there’s no reason to care. You may care just because, but there’s no reason to.

Characters are cliché, uninspired, basic and boring. They’re shit. Just shit.
Is almost like the didn’t put any effort in to them.

It has the same problem as the manga, in there it was pretty thin, it had a deeper meaning, here is far, far worst. Gally is a cyborg, so she can reconstruct herself and be better, and that’s why there’s no tension. Nothing can actually happen to her.
Alita beats the shit out of everybody with easy, unlike the manga.

They are a lot of stupid thing in the film as well.

Romance, as usual, is crap. Alita is not an excuse. In the manga she falls in love easily too, but at least she gets to know the fuckers. Fuckers who were human and complex. The guy in this movie is garbage who doesn’t even has a real reason to go to the floating city.
Life down there seems to be okay, unlike the manga, in there, life in the earth was shit. Going up was obviously a good idea.
Here it feels empty.

They barely even spent time together. But they really, really love each other. Bullshit.

Guns are banned, apparently they are too dangerous. Weird, I thought having a metal powerful body was more fuck up.

Well. The film is bad. Is predictable, because it follows the type of storytelling that sells, just like Transformers movies and shit like that. Is generic, empty and all the words I use to describe bad anime.

Looks good? Yeah. But I’m not impressed.
Is it fun? Maybe. I got really bored. And annoyed.

4/10.
Just because of Alita. She’s not Gally, tho. That woman is amazing.

Alaoz!

PD. Does she eats in the manga? Can’t remember. Her body is metal. It makes no sense.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The best of the DCEU is a bad film. Go figure.

Posted : 1 year, 10 months ago on 28 April 2019 11:29 (A review of Wonder Woman)

English is not my native language so I apologize for the errors that are bound to exist.


Wonder Woman is still the best movie of the DC universe. Which is not saying much because they all suck.

This was originally written in November 26 of 2017. I just make some changes.



It doesn’t look horrible but it looks like PS2 graphics. Is just not that well made.


Careful with the green screen!


Slow motion scenes are overused and it don’t make sense that they used them when they did. It just looks silly.


The choreography is usually okay.


In general, it looks mediocre. Nothing impressive, nothing horrible, just… okay.


The plot is overly simplistic, just go kill the bad guy. Doesn’t construct anything, doesn’t try to go beyond, it stays in the comfort zone, and that’s lazy. Is just lazy. 

And commits one of the worst crimes, it has caricatures for villains. They are evil just because. 
The general is just a cunt and he dies like a bitch. He’s not scary, it doesn’t command respect, is not interesting at all.


What's the deal with the gas that makes him stronger? Why nobody else uses it? 
I mean, that way it would be easy to win the war if he gives it to its soldiers. At least a little bit. 
I guess it doesn't matter, doesn't work for him anyway. Diana kills him very easily. Boring.


At the end of the movie, Ares - who also sucks – dies and the Germans hug, they are no longer under the influence of Ares, they are good again. Because that is how shit goes down in wars.


The movie pisses in his own message, in the face, just like Germans like to do.


But is not a war movie right? It just has one… Lazy.


The secondary characters are stereotypical, they help I guess, but they don’t really matter. If they die, who cares?


Diana is nice, and strong and… nice. She is very naïve because of her upbringing and doesn’t learn shit about humanity nor develops as a person, she stays pretty much the same. She has some chemistry with her love interest whose name I don’t recall, is nice seeing them together. That´s why the relationship is not force like a rape, but isn’t exactly good either. They are the best thing of the film and they are not good. The thing is, every other character is shit.


It has some funny moments and the fish out of water thing was okay. 

The amazons are hot, they dress cool and they are a bunch of sexist, which I like in women.


This review is lazy, just like the movie.


This film s superficial. Is dumb. Is ridiculous and insulting.


4/10.


I believed in love!


Fuck you!


 Alaoz!



0 comments, Reply to this entry

Not suitable for pregnant women.

Posted : 1 year, 10 months ago on 28 April 2019 10:41 (A review of Rosemary's Baby)

English is not my native language so I apologize for the errors that are bound to exist.


One of the few scary movies that are good, really good.

First movie of Polanski that I've seen, and let me tell you, that rapist is talented.

Hey, if he makes movies like this he can touch some kids, it´s okay…


Is not particularly scary or something like that. I don’t get scared to begin with. But that’s has nothing against the good writing of the film. 

People get scared from different things. Is enough with the characters feeling the horror, I think.

 

Is slow, but a lot of thing happen. Every scene is relevant and every dialogue means something. It is always constructing the characters. 

It may not be trilling, but it is well writing.

You know what the danger is early in the movie, that could be wrong for most people, but I can argue that while it's not exactly better, it's just as good as a story where you do not know. There´s is a bomb under the table, but Rosemary is ignorant of it. You don’t know if she is going to notice in time, and you feel unsettled.

And yes, she starts bland, but she grows on you and you want her to be okay. It also helps that she is so pretty and fragile, of course.


And how smart is the danger!


SPOILERS.

 

Rosemary is a woman who doesn't have much control of her life. You know the danger, you see how she is being manipulated, you are aware that her husband is in the shit too. She is alone and defenseless. And you suffer.
And when she sees the reality, you know that no one is gonna believe her and that she is in the hands of the danger. And you suffer a little more.
You want to take a shit but it is too good to pause it and you suffer greatly.

The bomb was bound to explode. She being aware didn’t matter. And that makes the movie so fucking good. And sad.


The witches are smart, and subtle. “What does your hubby do?”, “You plan to have children?” In another movie those would have been innocent questions, but not here. Husband is an actor, but unsuccessful. And she is very fertile. Perfect for the plan.


Perhaps too perfect. And that is something that bugs me. Is not a big problem tho.


What a cunt the husband is, by the way. A monster! Let your wife suffer and give your firstborn to a bunch of old diapers wearing shit smelling witches just for a better career and a big lifestyle. Insensible, what a bast… I would do the same thing.

No, no, no. Kidding. I would never give my baby to witches. Somebody else’s, well… No! No. No. Well maybe… No. No.

Where was I?


Everything is part of the plan. Even Terry 's dead. They get just in time to see the body and get to know the future devil 's mama. And they don’t see very sad with her dead. So I agree that they kill her and make it look like a suicide.


Going back to Rosemary, I have problems. She does feel too innocent. Too much. Not reading the books and believing that her thinness was normal. And taking too goddamn long for the rational thing of looking for a second opinion. If the best doctor tells me that peeing blood is normal, and not gonna take it at face value.


It was obvious that doctor Hill was not going to believed her and she should have known. She should just tell him that people wanted to hurt her baby and leave the witch part. And why didn’t she go to the fucking police?


It may be the pressure of the situation, but she does act careful during the way to the doctor and smart during her scape after they bring her back to the apartment. 
So she CAN think. Is a problem, not that big of a deal but…


And in a personal note. This would have never work with me. Because I live under the reasonable idea that the people that surround me are capable of horrible things. Thank 's Tosh.

 
I would have suspected since the beginning!  


Anyway. Is a good film with a great ending. I do not know why they say it was a twist, I see it coming. But that’s not a problem, not really. 
You don’t need surprise for a good ending. One that culminates with the unstoppable realization, is great as well.


Great choice not to show the baby. Sometimes is better not to show. Let people used their imagination.

 

Fuck, that Japanese guy look so out of place. And the way he takes pictures. Hilarious.
Is also funny the chanting for Satan. Looks ridiculous. But maybe that’s the point. Satanism is dumb. Just like all religions.


8/10.


Alaoz!



0 comments, Reply to this entry